Member - Details

Mr. Michael Garland

Chief Executive Officer

Pattern Energy Group LP

Michael (Mike) Garland is the President and Chief Executive Officer of Pattern Energy Group Inc. (PEG Inc.) and the Chief Executive Officer of Pattern Energy Group LP (PEG LP). Mr. Garland served as the founder and CEO of PEG LP from June 2009 until the formation of PEG Inc. in October 2013, and currently plays a dual role at the helm of both entities. Formerly Mr. Garland was a partner of Babcock & Brown (B&B) from 1986 to 2009, where he led the firm’s North American Infrastructure Group and initiated and managed project finance activities, energy development and energy investment, which grew to over $12 billion of assets in less than five years under his leadership. Earlier in his career, from 1975 to 1986, Mr. Garland worked for the State of California as Chief of Energy Assessments. For more than 25 years, Mr. Garland has developed, constructed, managed and invested in energy and infrastructure projects in the United States and around the globe. Since the closing of his first wind project financing in 1989, he has managed the successful development and investment of nearly 4,000 MW of wind projects worldwide, as well as many transmission, renewable and conventional fueled power projects. Today, Mr. Garland oversees all aspects of PEG Inc. and PEG LP, paying particular attention to efficient operations, raising and structuring capital, project selection, strategic planning, and corporate performance and values. Mr. Garland has been recognized for his many contributions to financial structuring, technology development, environmental protection and education. Serving as a Trustee of the UC Berkeley Foundation, he and his wife Virginia (Gigi) Coe are active supporters of the University of California at Berkeley's Physics Department and the University of Washington Medical School and have founded The Bay School of San Francisco. Mr. Garland has also written several books and articles on energy and finance and holds a Bachelor of Arts in Physics from the University of